Territory of San Marino

In the heart of Italy, on the border between the regioni of Emilia Romagna and Marche, the Republic of San Marino extends for 61,196 km².
It is the third smallest country in Europe, with only Vatican City and Monaco being smaller.

The Monte Titan that with its three “penne” (jutting peaks) is the symbol of the country, it marks the beginning of the Tuscan-Romagna section of the Apennines and, with its 749 meters over sea level, it is the highest point in the Country. In effect, the mount has an unusual configuration as compared to the surrounding territory which is prevalently hilly. Actually, it is a large sandy limestone rock, residual of the fragmentation of a large undersea plate over twenty-million years ago. Other fragments formed mounts which today are called: Della Verna, Simoncello, Fumaiolo, San Leo.

segna gli inizi dell’Appennino tosco-romagnolo e, con i suoi 749 metri sul livello del mare, è il punto più alto del Paese. Di fatto, il monte ha una configurazione insolita per il territorio circostante che è a prevalenza collinare. Si tratta infatti di una roccia calcareo-arenacea, residuo della frantumazione, risalente a venti milioni di anni fa, di una grande placca sottomarina. Altri frammenti hanno dato vita invece ai monti oggi battezzati Della Verna, Simoncello, Fumaiolo, San Leo.

Some mountain streams, beginning on Mount Titano, join the main rivers which flow across the San Marino territory; among these: the Marano and the Marecchia rivers which, after approximately twenty kilometers, flow into the Adriatic Sea: the Marano at Riccione and the Marecchia at Rimini.

The lowest point in the Country is Falciano, Municipality of Serravalle, which is only 55 meters above sea level.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>