Flag and coat-of-arms

The flag of the Republic of San Marino is made up of horizontal stripes, a white top and a bottom in blue. At the center is represented the official emblem, a shield surmounted by a closed crown, a symbol of sovereignty.
The shield, in which are depicted the three towers symbol of San Marino, is decorated with two branches, one of laurel and one of oak with golden fruits and joined at the bottom by a silver ribbon bearing the motto Libertas.

The civil flag that is exposed by the various “Case di Castello” has the same proportions (3:4), the civic coat of arms in place of the national one in central position and the blue-white horizontal stripes.

The official coat of arms of the Republic of San Marino is surmounted by a crown closed, the symbol of sovereignty. The shield has a blue field, three green hills, the silver towers, windowed and distinct in black, with battlements, pricked out of silver ostrich feathers.

The shield is decorated with two green branches, one of a laurel and one of oak with golden fruit.

On the silver ribbon the motto Libertas in capital letters in black.

The various Municipalities of the Republic each have their coat-of-arms:

  • Città di San Marino: few variations have been made to the National coat-of-arms, three gold towers with white plumes at the top; on the bottom a wall with the motto “Libertas”
  • Borgo Maggiore: originally Mercatale – the second largest Castel. The coat-of-arms depicts the location of this Municipality at the foot of Mount Titano
  • Serravalle: literally the name means “that closes the valley”, with reference to its strategic position. The coat-of-arms, depicting a red tower, alludes to its defensive role (“azure background, square red tower adorned with three Ghibelline battlements”)
  • Domagnano: originally called Montelupo, the coat-of-arms depicts a wolf in the foreground and the ruin of a tower on top of a hill
  • Fiorentino: gold with three red roses. The three flowers (fiori) refer to its name
  • Acquaviva: the coat-of-arms corresponds to its previous name: Montecerreto. “Azure, with three turkey oak trees with leafy green branches arranged in a triangular form”
  • Faetano: the coat-of-arms represents the name of the territory, deriving from “beech”, in particular, “a Forest of Beech Trees”; in gold showing an uprooted beech tree
  • Montegiardino: the coat-of-arms clearly captures the place/name: “Azure background, with three red roses with green leafy stems, in a fan-shape, on top of a mountain with three gold peaks”
  • Chiesanuova: the original name was Pennarossa (red plume) which is depicted on the coat-of-arms: “azure background with a red plume”